Orange Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Loaf – For Those Times You Need A Little Warmth & Comfort

Baking ingredients on a wooden board, top view

May the Fourth be with all of you today!

I think I just revealed the more nerdy side of myself, ah well, it was bound to happen at some point!

We are officially in the Spring season now in the Niagara region even though I don’t think the weather temps got that memo as I sit here in a sweater and slippers typing this, Brrrrrrrr. So it got me thinking, what are one of the things I love to do to not only warm the cockles of my heart but my tummy as well, BAKING always does the trick!

So for today’s installment I will be writing about a go to recipe my family and I love, Orange Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Loaf.  It has all those great Christmasy smells and flavours and the ability to give you that comfort and warmth no matter what time of year.

I have to make a confession I did steal ok ‘borrow’ this recipe initially from Anna Olson’s cookbook ‘Sugar’, which I will be honest is so worn and battered from so much use, it really has become one of my baking bibles.  Side note:  I actually got to meet her at a women’s conference last year and made a complete fangirl of myself, but that is a whole other story.

Anywho, I do play with the spices depending on my mood, sometimes I add nutmeg or ginger or turmeric or extra cloves etc.  Baking really is a science and you must measure so that the magic can happen in the oven, but once you understand what spices work well with you can then play around with flavours and really start making recipes your own!

So here we go, from my family’s kitchen to yours,

Orange Cranberry Pumpkin Spice Loaf

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups All Purpose FlourIMG_20160313_192029_resized
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • cinnamon
  • cloves
  • ginger
  • 1/2 Cup unsalted Butter, Room Temp
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Canned or Roasted Pumpkin Puree
  • Zest of an Orange
  • Vanilla
  • 1 Cup Orange Juice (Real Or Bought will work)
  • 1 1/2 cups of Cranberries, Fresh or Frozen ( I have used re-hydrated Dried Cranberries as well and it tasted great)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Sift together flour, baking soda and powder, salt and spices and set aside.  I didn’t put any quantities for the spices because as I mentioned this is where you can really play around with flavour, I have added nutmeg and all spice to the flavour profile before and it gave it this wonderful warmness.  Again, play around with what you like in your flavour profile but do note I have never gone over 1 tsp for any spice so as not to over power.

In a medium bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Do note, once in a pinch I did substitute brown sugar for white and it gave it a nice molasses richness which was lovely as well.  Add eggs, one at a time, and stir in pumpkin puree, orange zest and vanilla.  Stir in orange juice.  Add dry ingredients in 2 additions and blend until just incorporated.  Fold in cranberries.  Spoon batter into a greased loaf pan and bake in the center of the oven for 60 – 75 minutes until a tester inserted into the loaf comes out clean.  Try and allow to cool before slicing but I tell you it will be hard as it will leave your house smelling AMAZEABALLS!

IMG_20160313_204544_resized

So there you go, my and well Anna Olson’s recipe for Cranberry Orange Pumpkin Spice Loaf.  Do give it a go and let me know how it goes.  I always welcome feedback and would love to hear about how you liked the recipe or how you changed it up to make it your own.

Who knows, it might just make a perfect addition to your Mother’s Day brunch this Sunday, just saying. 🙂

Until next week, PEACE OUT!

Love Always,

Dina xxoo

 

Leave a Reply

