YOU and Your WORK – What is it Worth?

Hello Blog Lovers!

Another week has come and gone again and we are less than a week away from Labour Day long weekend. Phew, where has the summer gone!

Last week, I talked about what I was able to learn about life from canning with my Mom over the years and this week I will touch on the same topic, well sort of.

Let me explain…

Last week while working in my office I stumbled upon a discussion amongst other women entrepreneurs in a closed Facebook group I am a part of called GWEn–Growing Women Entrepreneurs.  The discussion started when a member inquired about the large price gap evident in this region for social media managers and their services.  It would appear that the scale can range from $200 – $2000.  Obviously this depends on the size of the agency and or if it is just one individual (solopreneur) offering up their expertise and services. That isn’t the interesting part, as I have had this discussion many times over the years with colleagues and fellow entrepreneurs.  No, what was interesting was the concept of pricing based on your value versus based on what potential clients are willing to pay.

female-entrepreneurThis concept and debate really does resonate with me.  It is something that I have struggled with over the years and I know that I am not alone.  We as women entrepreneurs are still being well under paid in comparison to our male counter parts for the exact same work done. Is this due to the given market or is it because we as women entrepreneurs are under valuing who we are and what we offer professionally or can it be a combination of the two?

Since relocating  back into the Niagara region from Vancouver over 3 years ago, learning to adjust can be classified as an understatement!  Life and business here in Niagara I have discovered is really about who knows you.  People generally will only do business with someone they feel they know and are apart of the community they operate in.  Moving from the West Coast and setting up shop here as an independent freelancer with a Cue Creative Consulting has definitely seen its ups and downs.

When networking or talking with local area residents, the usual response when I say I work with a Cue is generally ‘who’?  So having what seems is an uphill battle, the idea of price is generally the first place we think we need to adjust our business.  “If I just lower my price, more people will want to hire me, right?” Is generally the first place our minds go.

But, how is this helping us, our value or the value of the work we offer?

Our work and who we are has value.  And, it is about time we and the market start recognizing that!  If we don’t value ourselves how can we expect others to do the same?

largeThey say we attract the energy we put out into this world.  Let’s start using positive ‘valuable’ energy out into the universe when we all collectively think of who we are and what we offer our respectable industries without compromise or fear.  Once we stick to that, the ideal clients will come and will be attracted to the energy we put out.  If they aren’t the ideal clients, then we simply must say ‘thank you, but please move on’ so you can leave space for the ideal client to come into your life.

Acknowledging the value in ourselves adds value to our respectable industries which in the end is nothing but a win, win all around!

Following this philosophy has allowed me to slowly but steadily grow my business.  I have enjoyed and worked hard seeing my baby grow and I am so excited to see her grow even more into the booming business I know she can be.

Thank you once again for coming along on this blogging journey with me.  But, before I go, let me ask you, do you think we as women entrepreneurs base our service fees on our intrinsic value or on what we think people are willing to pay in this current regional market?

Please join this important conversation as I would love to hear your feedback in the comments below!

Until next time,

Love & Light I send to you always,

Dina xxoo

Leave a Reply

