Autumn in Ontario =’s My Roasted Butternut Squash & Pear Soup!

Happy Tuesday My fellow Blog Lovers!

Another week is upon us and for the first time I am sensing that ‘fall’ feeling all around me, the cooler weather at night, the trees are starting to bloom into their glorious colourful hues of autumn and my need to cook is definitely bubbling.

I don’t know if it was the Flavours festival that was just here in Port Colborne this past weekend; I actually did a live taste test of the Donair & Tabuleh dish from The Smokin Buddha from the festival, check it out here:

https://www.facebook.com/dinaarsenaultdigitalstrategist/videos/681213318698276/ 

or just my inkling to stock up and get me and my family ready for the cold and unforgiving winter season, which according to the Farmer’s Almanac it is supposed to be a doozy this year. I find my mind and my taste buds are leaning towards my most favorite and flavourful fall creation; my roasted butternut squash and pear soup.  This has to be my go to creation every fall, when the squashes, apples and pears are in great supply and begging to be transformed all around us here in the Niagara region.

Now this recipe has evolved every time that I have made it, my taste buds, creativity and what was available in the house have made it a chameleon of sorts but always delicious.  It can be sweet or savory, that flavour profile is entirely up to you.  Again, as I had mentioned in my previous recipe posts, I do not always give you amounts for spices etc as my Mother and her Mother and so on were taught to cook by feel and I also like to leave that part open to your own flavour likes and your own creativity.  So break open your hot apple ciders, or cups of tea and pull up a chair and let’s begin the process of making my delicious;

Roasted Butternut Squash & Pear Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 Butternut Squash
  • 2 White Cooking Onions
  • 2 Apples
  • 2 Pears
  • Maple Syrup
  • Brown Sugar
  • Butter
  • Chicken Stock
  • Heavy Cream
  • Cinnamon
  • Allspice
  • Cloves
  • Nutmeg
  • Ginger
  • Salt & Pepper

Note:  I have used leeks instead of onions, fresh ginger instead of powdered in the past.  I have also substituted one of the butternut squashes with an acorn or a small pumpkin and I have also substituted molasses instead of maple syrup as well and each substitution lent itself to another evolution of the recipe.  Again, use your imagination and play with the it.

Also, if you are vegan or vegetarian, use veggie stock and or instead of heavy cream use almond or coconut milk.  However, since both of these milks are sweet, use less of the brown sugar and maple syrup to counteract their sweetness.

Directions:

Peel, core and de-seed the butternut squash, apples, pears and onions and cut into smaller pieces and place in a baking dish.  Sprinkle salt & pepper and the spices over the mixture. Dollop butter over top of the veg mixture in all the corners, edges and in the middle. Sprinkle the brown sugar and maple syrup over the mixture.  If you are going for a more savory taste in your soup use less of the sugar and maple syrup, if you like it more sweet add more.

Pour the stock over the mixture until it comes up about half way up the baking dish.  Place the baking dish in a 375 degree oven and bake until soft, sporadically tossing the veg mixture while cooking so it does not stick and burn to the bottom of the dish. Remove the baking dish from the oven, careful not to burn yourself.

12036613_10153543847682741_2589409589045037653_n

Let it cool slightly, blend until smooth.  I use my Nutri bullet, but I have used a submersion and or high powered blender in a pinch and they worked great.  If you find that there is not a lot of liquid left from baking, simply add a bit more of the stock when you are blending. Place the blended mixture in a pot and slowly add the heavy cream and blend until you get the consistency you desire for your soup.  Ladle into bowls and serve.  To add some crunch you can toast the seeds from the squash and sprinkle on top of the finished soup. Delish!

12063728_10153544068092741_7247738320775730882_n

This recipe both freezes and cans great, just don’t add the cream if you do.  Add it when you serve.  I can not wait for you all to get cooking in your own kitchens and give my soup a try!  Let em know how it goes and what were your own ‘twists’ did you do to make it your own!

Thank you once again for taking the time to read my ramblings every week, that never goes unnoticed.  But before I bid you adieu, let me ask you, what is your go to recipe in the fall that you and your family love?  I would love to hear!

 

Until next time,

Love & Light I send to you always,

Dina xxoo

Leave a Reply

