‘Hallo – Freedom’

Hello my fellow blog lovers!

Another week has come and gone and here we are again and it is November already to boot.  Time is flying by quicker I feel or maybe I am just getting old, who knows, could be a bit of both :P.  As you all know, Halloween just happened and I am always so amazed and tickled to see all of the little trick-or-treaters come to the door decked out in their little costumes, full of awe and wonder with a side of sass for some.  It generally is a holiday where we can  let our deepest desires come out and come to life even for just one night and be whatever we have always wanted to be.  Inhibitions are dropped and wonderment and unbridled fun is had.

courage-to-chase-dreams

But, why do we need a holiday to become what we have always desired, why can’t we find the courage to do this every day of our lives?

Why do we need to hide behind the veil of a holiday, are we not worth following our dreams every day of the year, instead of just one, don’t you agree?

It got me to think about what happened to me when I took drama in high school.  You have to understand, I was painfully shy as a kid and it would take all of my courage to say hello or even god forbid look you in the eye as we had a conversation.  And, if you were a boy, ‘forget about it’ But, once I became the character I was playing on stage, it was like my fears and inhibitions would fall away from me, if only for that brief moment where I could become someone completely different from who I was.  It was like I gave myself permission to be anything I wanted under the notion that it was OK as long as it wasn’t me. I felt that I wasn’t anyone worth being and dreaded it every day that I had to be ‘her’.  As you can guess, along with the bullying, the shyness and my all around awkwardness, I had extremely low self esteem and felt that I didn’t matter or was even valuable enough to love or be loved.

Maybe, this is what happens to us on Halloween, we allow ourselves to be whatever we desire no matter how different or more ‘valued’ from who we are in our everyday lives or the furthest thing away from who we think we should be, as a one night pass so to speak to live out our fantasies.

(some random pics of past alter ego or Halloween fantasies lived out)

Why do we give in to convention and allow ‘life’ to squash our dreams?  I know that we need to be responsible enough to pay our bills and be productive members of society, but who says we can’t do it as an solopreneur, entrepreneur or dressed up in a pink TuTu for all I care?

I mean I get practicality, I have always wanted to be the lead singer of an all girl rock band, but I can neither sing nor play an instrument, I get it, but it doesn’t mean i should give up on my dreams, does it!?

Why do we always have to do what is expected of us instead of becoming who we long to be?

I by no means have the answers, fear is a big obstacle I suspect, but what I am hoping from all of this, is that by talking about this openly and honestly and by writing this blog we can help spark this much needed conversation.

What do YOU think, why do we trade in our dreams for ‘real life’?  What stops us from going after and living them?

I can’t wait to hear your answers!

Thank you once again for stopping by and reading my weekly ramblings, that never goes unnoticed or unappreciated!

Until we meet again,

Love & Light I send to you all always,

Dina xxoo

Leave a Reply

