This Reuben Sandwich Was A ‘Holy’ Experience

Hello My Fellow Blog Lovers & Supporters!

Warm weather is finally here!! So excited to get my tan on and get outside and enjoy the beautiful countryside that is Niagara.  Recently, my Mom and I went on a bit of a road trip and discovered a new found gem – Shelly’s Family Dining & Catering.  What makes this place so unique, is that it is not a traditional restaurant per say, this one is located in a converted church! Gotta say first time I have been inside one of those in many years 😛

As we pulled up, we were intrigued by the beautiful architecture of the brick church which just screamed history and eclectic beauty in my books.  Fun fact about me, I am a bit of an architectural nerd who LOVES to take pics of structures that intrigue me or are unique.  Seriously my trip to Europe was three quarters buildings and landscapes – True Story!

18301398_813863312099942_218479836676217155_n

But I digress, you walk into the funky entrance way and are greeted with fun artifacts and antiques adding much charm and whimsy.  You proceed to open the big church doors and you are greeted with this large, expansive space which feels like you are being transported back in time, but not style.

Beautiful wooden accents, gorgeous stained glass windows and antique blown glass accent this space. I would be remiss not to mention the AMAZING archway framing this wonderful newly discovered gem as well, beyond gorgeous!

Mom and I grabbed a seat not before admiring their use of old church pews for seating – added a great feature and overall feel to this place.  We were greeted by a wonderfully bubbly server who was excited to see new faces.  We casually looked over the menu and I decided to go with a classic – Reuben sandwich! While waiting for our order, Mom and I took in all the cute and quirky features of this unique venue.  I really do cherish these moments I can experience new places to eat and sit and chat with my Mom – Brings me back to the times just after my Dad died when me and her would go on these epic road trips with no direction in mind, we just hopped in the car and went.  Discovering some really great out of the way hole-in-the-wall places that we otherwise never would have discovered.  Certainly felt like old times and I was loving it!

18527622_10154812126807741_8265836770154086712_n

My mouth was watering when my Reuben got to the table, thick slabs of home roasted pastrami, still juicy and succulent, the bite of yellow mustard accented by the slight tang of the classic sauerkraut all encased by the toasted yet soft rye and kind of nutty bread.  Just delish!

I really would recommend you give this little gem a try if you are looking for homemade food in a very unique atmosphere, then Sherry’s Family Dining & Catering is the place to check out!

Thank you once again for coming along on this blogging journey with me and for taking the time to read my ramblings each week.  But, before we go, let me ask you this, what are some interesting or hole-in-the-wall places that you have discovered in the Niagara region? I am always looking for new places to check out and explore and of course excuses for more epic road tips with my partner in crime, my vivacious Mama!

Can’t wait to hear your recommendations!

Until next time,

Love & Light I send to you always,

Dina xxoo

Leave a Reply

